Conservation District

MeetingsThis icon features multiple credit cards and an echeck payment option. Opens in new window

  • 6 pm
  • 3rd Tuesday of every month
  • Lake County Courthouse, Board of County Commissioners Meeting Room
    505 Harrison Avenue
  • Mary Smith, President
  • Padraic Smith, Vice President
  • Ed Shober, Secretary / Treasurer
  • Mary Schroeder, Member
  • Dan Trujillo, Member


Conservation District Graphic

The Lake County Conservation District (LCCD) is a local unit of state government whose purpose is to make available technical, financial, and educational resources to meet the needs of local land managers in conserving and restoring soil, water, and related natural resources.

LCCD Mission Statement

Advancing conservation through stewardship, education, and restoration of natural resources in Lake County.

Organization of the Lake County Conservation District

Conservation Districts are political subdivisions of the State of Colorado. The authority's power and structure are contained in the Colorado Revised Statutes, Title 35, Article 70.

The Lake County Conservation District was established by a referendum of landowners on January 30th, 1950. All incorporated municipalities and areas devoted exclusively to commercial and industrial uses, as they existed at the time the original District was formed, were excluded from the District.